Due to the Covid-19 pandemic forcing the cancellation of the 2020 Annual General Meeting, there were no awards is 2020. The results below are for 2019.

A number of awards are given to the Branch members each year to reward those who provide exemplary service to the Branch.

The Andy Simmons Shield

Andy was one of the early members of the Branch, he was the first one of us to have his photo taken wearing the branch badge on his vest. In 2005, while he was still a serving WO2 in the Royal Regiment of Fusiliers, he very tragically died of a heart attack whilst out on a run. As he was the first, but sadly not the last to go from the Branch, we decided to dedicate a memorial shield awarded annually to the person the committee thinks has given more above and beyond for the Branch.

The 2019 winner was 876 Cambridge Project Team, accepted by Gary & Sam Fisher

The Chairman’s Cup

The Chairman’s Cup was donated by Paul Pollard, Branch Chairman 2004 – 2009 and is inscribed ‘Deeds, Not Words’. It is awarded to the Branch Member who has exemplified its inscription by the Branch Chairman when he steps down from this position and it is his decision alone as to whom it is awarded to.

The cup was not presented in 2019.
In 2018 the cup was awarded and presented by Ian McLauchlan, the outgoing branch Chairman to Paul Adams.

The Albie Hall Trophy

The Albie Hall Trophy is to be presented each year in Memory of John (Albie) Hall who passed away this year following a motorcycle accident. The award will go to the member who the Committee feels has captured the Public’s imagination in his or her fundraising achievements for the Poppy Appeal during the year.

The 2019 winner was Les Hodgson (collected by Paul Adams)

The Branch also awards certificates to various members all over the country who have demonstrated the Royal British Legions ‘Service Not Self’ ideology.

2019 Certificate Winners

Thomas Hill,
Janice Griffiths,
Craig Stevens,
Les and Audrey Hodgson

Previous Award Winners 2008-2018

The Andy Simmons Shield

The 2018 winner was Steve Knight

Previous Andy Simmonds Shield Winners:
Martin and Suzie Heal, Heather Boardman, Neil James, Garry Edwards, Paul Pollard, John ‘Dino’ Sore, ‘Big Steve’ Blundell, Martyn White, Tony Dadson, Rick Laing, Adam & Sarah Brown, Paddy McCreanor and Michael ‘Iddy’ Iddon”

The Chairmans Cup

The winner in 2018 was Paul Adams.

The previous Winner was Andy Downer.

The Albie Hall Trophy

The 2018 winners were Simon Evans and Helen Scarr-Evans

Previous Albie Hall Trophey Winners:
Elaine Clout and Mike Edwards, Marion Hall Pieters, Phil (ZZR) Glanville, Julie C Blyth, Mark Newton, Dougie Bancroft, Stuart (Madrider) Morrisey

Previous Certificate Of Merit Winners

2018 Certificate Winners

Jeanette James
Gerry Alderton
Tracy Craig

2017 Certificate Winners

Maxine McLauchlan
Frank Mellor
Steve “Gozzi” Gostling
Janice Edwards
Alan Lewis
Joy Lewis
Derek Hendry
Chris Chapman
Steve Dunn
Roy Vilder
John Pinkerton

2016 Certificate Winners

Ewan Jelly Craig
Bernie Waters
Ian Herbie Herbert
Paul (Eddie) Fitzgerald
Denise Fitzgerald
Robert Cross
Mark Boardman
Val Reynolds
Helen Hesleton
Steve Taylor
Fred and Eleanor Manning
Colin Woods
John Armitige

2015 Certificate Winners

Amanda Finch
Barbara Farragher
Beverley McIlver
Brian McAlroy
Deborah Hunter
Elaine (Lost) Clout
Gary & Sam Fisher
Gina Collingwood
Graeme Cunningham
Graham & Wendy Sage
Graham Mogford
Ian Wilson
James Wolf-Hanson
Lester (Bill) Bailey & Jane (Pink) Bailey
Peter Thomas
Steve (Juice) Watton
Terry Walsh & Bea Walsh
Tony (Tbone) Beale
Vicki McCreanor

2014 Certificate Winners

Mags Parker
Dave Gibson
Jim Flynn
Bernie Wilkinson
Wilf Beames
Terri Beames
Julie Blyth
Nigel Tamblyn
Tony Hendra
Terri Lee
Dave Reynolds
Ffion Roberts
Dylan Roberts
Dave Slocombe
Tim Garrett
Glen Green
Alan Goodwin
Michael Price
Pete Johnson
Alan Coleman
Mark James
Tony Anderson
Andy Monger
Gerald Crandon
Tony Isles
James Palmer
Linda Johnson
Andy Hartwell
Dave Muckle
Gerry Merritt

2013 Certificate Winners

Steve Thayer
Stephane Hope
Neil Cairns
Ian Taylor
Gill Hay
Dave Jones
Pel Crosby
Teresa Frost
Heather Boardman
Clair Johnston
Karen Smailes
Craig Cameron
Fee Cameron
Andy Leonard
Fr. Paul Miles-Knight
Mark Newton
Darren Clover
Colin Hanson
Graham Sheeley
Pete Morgan
Ken Collingwood
Neil Rogers
Doug Smith
Heath Sullivan
Dave Wells
Nigel Bradbury

2012 Certificate Winners

Garry Edwards
Tim Jones
Yvette Jones
Sue Hanesworth
Mike Edwards
Julie Fowler
James (Jay) Sharpe
Dave Pusey
Mat Atkinson
Pat McGurk
Darron Jeffries
Phil Thomas
Matthew Courtenay
Rod Walker
Paul Doggett
Christine Adams
Lyn Lovell
Martin Johnson
Andrea Fannon
Gary (Doc) Cotterill
Buck Taylor
Graham Spratt
Jae Enock
Ivan Cullum
Ian (JJ) Jarvis
Andy (Ivor) Downer
Mark Keeling

2011 Certificate Winners

Dave hope
Sue Jones
Phil Topsy Turner
Steve Robson
Andy Campion
Allan Stephens
Nicki Pemberton
Gordon Pitchford
Ray Risk
Ray Oaten
Richard Courtenay
Sarah Ball
Ian McLauchlan
Tom Davenport
Steve Hansford
Paul Woodward
Dave Richardson
Mark Henry
Steve Jackson
Paul Thomson
Donald Reid
Teresa Wallace

2010 Certificate Winners

Pete Bradley
Gavin Woodroffe
Dave Richards
Andy Wilson
Jon (Dino) Sore
Sean (Ned) McCaffrey
Neil James
Andy and Elaine Tuzzio
Gina Walker
Norma Moite
Paul Adams
James Torrance
Twix Rayner
Bill Hailey
Jim Parker
Graham Mentor-Morris
Andrew Dalton
Deano Fowler
Max and Ruth Bygrave

2009 Certificate Winners

Andrew (Taff) Webb
Marcus Bristow
Bob Parker
Terry & Jackie Wilson
Michael (Iddy) Iddon
John Nelsen & WRC
Glynn (Kingo) Griffiths
Tim Jones
Terry (Taff) Davies
Sue Merry
Karl Harvey
Sarah Hamblin
Wendy Jones
Stephen (Spider) Evans
Bob Ellis
Paul Pollard

2008 Certificate Winners

Gail and Andy Brown
Dave Gasson
Cally Downer
Terry Wilson
Dean Owen
Hilary Bloor
Roger Mills & Team
Tomo Wheeler
Ray Collins
Ray Betterton
Tony Proctor